INTERNET HOAXES/SCAMS

 
Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 09:25:25 PDT 
From: "Yahoo! Member Services" <my-login-request@yahoo-inc.com> | Add to Address Book To: kellyann@errorworld.com 
Subject: Yahoo!: Please Verify Your Email Address 
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Do not reply to this message. If this account doesn't belong to you, please follow the instructions at the end of this email. 

Verify Your Email Address 
Please confirm that this is your email address. Click on the link below and then enter your Yahoo! password into the form.

Important! Please click here to verify this email address for your account.

Your Yahoo! ID: kellyann332003 
Your Email Address: kellyann@errorworld.com 

Email verification helps make Yahoo! safer and more enjoyable for everyone.

If you can't click on the sentence labeled "Important!" above, you can also verify your email address by cutting and pasting (or typing) the following address into your browser:

http://edit.yahoo.com/v/recv?e77d1f

For your records, your verification code is: e77d1f

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Policies: Please remember that your use of Yahoo! products and services is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. 

Maintaining Your Account: Please update your email address whenever it changes so we can help with any account access issues. (You will be asked to sign in first.) Or, sign in to Yahoo!, go to Account Information, click the Edit button next to Member Information, and you will be able to change your alternate email address(es)." 

Not Your Account?: If this email is in reference to a Yahoo! account not created or used by you, please click here.
_____________________________________________________

As you can see,it's very official,except I'm pretty sure I'm not kellyann@errorworld.com but in checking this email out,I've found no such Yahoo site called "yahoo-inc.com" thus this has to be a Yahoo version of the old ebay scam.Since I'm a paying member of SBC Yahoo Dial, I believe they know who I am.Don't get suckered into giving anyone your password.If this was Yahoo,I'm sure they could access it themselves without bothering me. ~ Jim

Dear customer, [Note lack of capitalization of Customer]
Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information. 

This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003. Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information. 

Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau. 

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem. 

BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED 
ITEMS PURCHASED 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------- 
Item No: 73890 
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller 
Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3 
-----------------------------------------------------------

The order listed above has not yet been processed. 
The reason for the delay in processing your order is: 

UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS 

- Information provided: 

Shipping 

41 WINHAM ST 
Staten Island, NY 10306 
United States 
phone# 206-337-9843 

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem. 

BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

Subject:  Ebay verification
Date:      Fri, 20 Jun 2003 06:59:52 +0300
From:     "Ebay verification" <aw-confirm@ebay.com>
To:         <surok@adelphia.net>

Dear Member,

During our regular update and verification of the accounts, we couldn't verify your current information. 

Either your information has changed or it is incomplete.

Please update and verify your information by signing in your account below :

If the account information is not updated to current information within 5 days then, your access to bid or buy on eBay will be restricted.

go to this link below:
http://cgi1.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?MyEbayLogin

Thank you 

Accounts Managent  [Note mispelling of "management"]

As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. 

Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions. 

If you get an e-mail similar to the one below, be aware that it is a hoax. I get about 4 of these a week in my e-mail. Don't bite. This is a well known scam to clean out your bank account. Just delete it.
Subject: CONFIDENTIAL
Date:     Wed, 18 Jun 2003 17:51:49 +0200
From:     Joseph Mobutu Sese-Seko <jmobutu189@37.com>
Reply-To:  josephmobutu2003@37.com
To:           surok@adelphia.net

Good day, 

You may be surprise to receive this email since you do not know me.  I am the son of the late president of Democratic Republic Of Zaire,  President Mobutu Sese Seko, ( now The Republic of Congo, under the  leadership of the son of Mr. Laurent Kabila). I presume you are aware there is a financial dispute between my family ( THEMOBUTUS ) and the present civilian Government. This is based on what they believe as bad and corrupt governance on my late father's part. May his soul rest in perfect peace. As you might have heard how a lot of my father's bank account in Switzerland and North America have been frozen. Following the above named reasons, I am soliciting for your humble and confidential assistance to take custody of THIRTY Million United States Dollars ( US$30,000,000.00 ), also to front for me in the areas of business you desire profitable. These funds have secretly been deposited into a confidential Security Company, where it can easily be withdrawn or paid to a recommended beneficiary. The funds will be released to you by the Security Company, based on my recommendations, on that note, you will be presented as my partner who will be fronting for me and my family in any subsequent ventures. Myself and my mother have decided to give 20% to you if you are able to help us claim this consignment. We have also decided to give you any money spent on phone calls or traveling expenses in the course of this transaction at the end of the transaction.Please, I need your entire support and co-operation for the success of this transaction, your utmost confidentiality and secrecy is highly required, due to my family's present predicament. I sincerely will appreciate your willingness to assist us as soon as possible. I am presently in the refugee camp here in the Netherlands under the united nations refugee camp in Netherlands and I can be reached on phone number +31-645-238-205 or E-mail me at josephmobutu2003@37.com for more information on how we can proceed in this transaction. Please indicate your interest by sending your telephone and fax number or call me up at anytime. I sincerely will appreciate your acknowledgement as soon as possible. 

Warmest regards, 
Joseph Mobutu Sese-Seko. 

First Union Hoax on the Loose
By
Dennis Fisher


A hoax e-mail purporting to come from First Union Bank and attempting to dupe recipients to visit a malicious Web site is making the rounds on the Internet. 

The e-mail arrives from the address bankaccount@firstunion.com and informs the recipient that the bank has lost the recipient's online banking username and password. It directs users to a Web site where they are encouraged to enter their usernames and passwords, which are presumably then collected for later use by the scam artist who created the e-mail. Bank officials say they're trying to determine who is sending the e-mails. 

Even if users don't enter their personal information in the form at the site, they could still be at risk. Simply visiting the site triggers an automatic download of the Backdoor-AMQ Trojan horse program to the visitor's machine, according to an advisory published Thursday by the Unified Incident Reporting and Alert Scheme, the U.K. equivalent of the CERT Coordination Center. 

Backdoor-AMQ is a well-known application that gives an attacker the ability to remotely control infected machines. Once installed on a PC, the program allows an attacker to perform a number of tasks on the remote machine, including deleting and moving files, shutting down Windows, logging off users and hiding or killing applications, Windows and processes. 

Officials at Wachovia Corp., in Charlotte, N.C., which now owns First Union, said they first became aware of the scam in mid-April and have had some reports from customers who have been affected by it. 

"We've had some luck working with the authorities on this, but it's in their hands at this point," said Sandy Vasseur, a spokeswoman for Wachovia. "We don't know if any actual customer PCs were infected. But it's a credibility issue for us. We need to make it clear that this isn't from us." 

Vasseur said Wachovia never sends account information in e-mail messages. 


This page created exclusively for Error World by The Software Clinic  C.2000  All rights reserved